Mamaku Koki Handal and Lock & Lock COOKING CHALLENGE: Potato “Lasagna”

IMG_8232

Having homemade food stocks neatly stored in my freezer really helps to lower my tension every morning. As I’ve told you in my previous post, I had cooked big amount of Bolognese sauce last weekend. This versatile sauce is ready to be “transformed” to many delicious meals 😉

I usually prepare a quick-cook meal for my son everyday to be eaten during his snack time at school. I remember when I was at primary school, I used to have my lunch box and shared the contents with my friends. There was a great pride to unpack the lunch box and find my mother’s homemade foods inside it. I promised myself that when I became a mother, I was going to carry on this tradition. I thought that a homemade meal inside my kid’s lunch box is a simple gesture of my love and care for him to carry off to school.

Yesterday, my son had a field trip with his schoolmates. I planned to prepare him a bigger portion of his usual meals, so that he could share them with his friends during the trip. Considering that I still had some Bolognese sauce in the freezer, I suddenly came up with this recipe. At first I wanted to make baked lasagna, but I didn’t have the lasagna sheets at the moment 😀 So I replaced the pasta with whatever I had in my kitchen: potatoes! I thought it would work wonderfully well. After all, they’re both carbohydrates! 😀

So then, early in the morning I boiled the potatoes and made some mashed potato out of them. I intended to have layers of mashed potato between the Bolognese sauce, as substitute for lasagna sheets. Once again, I used my trustworthy Lock & Lock glass in cooking this meal. Maybe some of you wondering why I trusted my 3-year-old son to carry a glass food container. Actually, my son is taught to use glass tableware at school, so I guess he could handle the Lock & Lock glass well enough and it’s safe to be carried by him. His teachers are also always there to supervise the children anyway. After all, Lock & Lock glass is made from high quality borosilicate glass, which is stronger than normal glass. It’s designed to go through temperature extremes and if broken it shatters into pebble pieces rather than shards. Lock & Lock glass is also 10% lighter than other tempered glass product, so it will not cause too much trouble if it’s carried inside my son’s school trolley bag.

It took only 15 minutes from mashing the potatoes till the assembly of the “lasagna”. Once the mozzarella topping melted and browned, I simply removed the Lock & Lock glass from the oven to cool it down a bit (I was surprised it didn’t take a long time to cool the surface of the Lock & Lock glass so it’s safe to be put inside my son’s bag!), put the lid on, and it’s done! Super quick, super easy, super tasty! 🙂

 

IMG_8233

Ingredients:

–       3 medium-size potatoes

–       1/4 recipe of my Bolognese Sauce (more or less)

–       2 tablespoons butter

–       ± 4 tablespoons cooking cream/milk

–       80 gram grated Cheddar cheese

–       80 gram grated Mozzarella cheese

–       ground white pepper and salt to taste

 

How to cook:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180º C.
  2. Peel the potatoes, put them into a saucepan. Add water until potatoes are covered and bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer, lid on, for 15 – 20 minutes, or until they’re done (a fork can easily be poked through them).
  3. Drain water from the potatoes. Put them into a bowl. Add cream and butter (room temperature), and use potato masher to mash the potatoes until well mashed. You can add cream/milk to achieve the consistency you desire. But remember to not over-beat or your potatoes will get gluey. Add the cheddar cheese, salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Rub the Lock & Lock Glass with olive oil, arrange 1 layer of mashed potatoes, and spread it evenly to cover the bottom of the container. Pour the Bolognese sauce to cover the mashed potato layer. Repeat steps for second layer. You may have two or three layers as you like, but you have to have the Bolognese sauce on top of your layer. Sprinkle the grated mozzarella cheese on top of your layer.
  5. Put it into the oven, and cook for around 15 minutes just until the mozzarella melts and the top gets brown.

 

Check out the video here!

 

 

 

About Dinda

A mum, a home cook, and a notary-to-be. Hoping to open her very own cake shop.

Leave a Reply

