No-bake, No-egg, No-alcohol Tiramisu

Who doesn’t love tiramisu? This sweet treat is my family favorite, including my 2 year-old son. Considering the ingredients of shop-bought tiramisu (raw eggs and rum), which are not very suitable for little kid, I tried to make it myself using no eggs and no alcohol. Turns out this is the easiest way to make tiramisu since it requires no baking whatsoever 😀

If you find that using coffee in tiramisu is too “strong” for your kids, simply substitute it with chocolate milk. I will put my little note in each ingredient if you want to make it “more” kid-friendly :D.

 

Ingredients

–       200 ml strong brewed coffee/espresso, room temperature (If I make the  tiramisu for my kid, I substitute the coffee with 200 ml of chocolate milk.)

–       2 tsp rum essence (I don’t use any alcohol in this recipe, but sometimes I want the “flavor” of rum, so I use essence instead. If I make the tiramisu for my kid, I’ll skip this ingredient.)

–       250 gr mascarpone cheese

–       125 gr cream cheese (I like to combine mascarpone and cream cheese because I like the tangy taste of cream cheese. Mascarpone is quite bland for me.)

–       250 ml  whipping cream/double cream

–       8 tbsp castor sugar

–       28 pcs lady finger biscuits

–       cocoa powder

 

How to Make

  1. Whip the whipping cream with sugar until it forms soft peaks. Refrigerate the whipped cream while preparing the next step.
  2. In another bowl, mix well the mascarpone and cream cheese.
  3. Mix together the cheese mixture and whipped cream until well combined.
  4. Add the rum essence (if using) into espresso, mix well.
  5. Dip both sides of the lady fingers into coffee mixture. Remove the lady fingers quickly (as they get soften really quick) and arrange the soaked lady fingers in bottom of your prepared dish.
  6. Spread enough amount of cheese mixture to cover the lady fingers.
  7. Repeat steps for second layer. You may have two or three layers depends on how big your dish is. Just remember that you have to have the cheese mixture on top of your layer.
  8. Dust the top layer (cheese mixture) with cocoa powder.
  9. Cover and refrigerate at least 8-10 hours to let the flavors blend into that classic tiramisu taste you know and crave.  Don’t eat it right away, because you’re going to be disappointed.  Give it time to make the magic happen!
About Dinda

A mum, a home cook, and a notary-to-be. Hoping to open her very own cake shop.

2 responses to “No-bake, No-egg, No-alcohol Tiramisu

  1. Pingback: White Chocolate Strawberry Tiramisu | koekjes kitchen

  2. Pingback: Bananamisu | koekjes kitchen

Leave a Reply

