My Version of Cheesy Nachos with Salsa

Disclaimer:

To all Mexican cooks out there, forgive me for posting this very inauthentic Salsa Recipe. 😀 I came up with this recipe due to my dislike of some ingredients in real Mexican Salsa. I hate the taste of cilantro and the smell of fresh tomatoes. In the other hand, it’s kinda hard to find Jalapeno Peppers here in Indonesia. So I dropped some ingredients and cooked my Salsa. Turns out it becomes family’s favorite!

Ingredients

For Salsa

  • 3 tomatoes, chopped (do not deseed the tomatoes as you need the tomato juice)
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 small green paprika, chopped. You can use any pepper you like, I just love the green color which is blended with the red tomatoes.
  • 5 small chilies (Indonesian people can use “cabe rawit” :D)
  • 200 ml water
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar. I don’t know why I ALWAYS use brown sugar when making Salsa. For me, it enhances the taste. You can use your regular white sugar, anyway.
  • ½ tsp salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • Chili sauce and ketchup, to taste
  • 1 Tbsp butter or margarine

Nachos, or any corn chips I found in supermarket (Indonesian people can use “Happy Tos”, a shop-bought corn chips which is widely sold than the real nachos).

Grated Monterey Jack Cheese. It’s the best option for the best taste. But I like to use any kind of cheese stored in my fridge. I used easy-melt Cheddar Cheese in the photo.

How to Make your Salsa

  1. Melt the butter in a saucepan, and add the chopped onions.
  2. Stir-fry the onions until golden brown, about 3 minutes.
  3. Put the chopped tomatoes, paprika, and chilies into the pan.
  4. Add the water, sugar, salt, black pepper, chili sauce, and ketchup to taste.
  5. Bring the water to the boil, or until the tomatoes is soaked and soft.

Cooked salsa. Still bubbling hot in the pan.

Final Assembly

  1. Arrange your nachos on the platter.
  2. Pour over the Salsa.
  3. Add the grated cheese on top.
  4. Microwave them for about 2 minutes, high heat, until the cheese is melted. Enjoy while it’s hot!
About Dinda

A mum, a home cook, and a notary-to-be. Hoping to open her very own cake shop.

2 responses to “My Version of Cheesy Nachos with Salsa

  1. Pingback: 5-Minute Quesadilla « koekjes kitchen

  2. Pingback: Updated: Proper Nachos with Proper Cheese « koekjes kitchen

Leave a Reply

